Happy International Women’s day!

When I was at preschool, I was coloring in a picture of flowers. One of the women that worked there (I can’t remember whether there were men or not, somehow I doubt it) was talking to me about the colours I like. “Every colour except black, brown, blue and green.” I replied.
“Why don’t you like those colours?”
“Because they are boys colours.”
Thankfully, she told me that there are no colours for boys, and no colours for girls, anyone can like any colour.

I don’t know how I came up with that idea, as I had been brought up by my lovely feminist Mum. I still am being brought up by my lovely feminist Mum. It was my mother who taught me that girls are just as important as boys. Now that I am older, I can articulate these ideas in ways that are relevant to the world around me. So far, my opinions are the same as hers, and that will probably continue to be the case. I am so lucky to have be living in this house, because who knows? Maybe I could still be thinking that green is a boys colour.

Happy International Women’s Day!

My favourite colours now are purple, yellow and green.

About Ursa

Ursa is a teenager who is a feminist, and doesn't like stereotypes about ages. She likes reading and 'The Gilmore Girls' and is owned by her cat.
This entry was posted in Family, Feminism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Happy International Women’s day!

  1. Deborah says:

    Your mother must be very proud of you.

Leave a comment