Clueless

As I am standing with my mother in the line at the supermarket checkout, I flick my eyes over the magazines. Most of them cause eye-rolls. But the other day, Ok! magazine caused a stare, and a vaguely worried mind-set for the rest of the day.

The main headline, coupled with a photo of a very thin Angelina Jolie: ‘apparently happier than ever, why is Angelina risking her health to stay thin?’

A little headline up the top: ‘(famous celebrity who has had a baby)’s post baby body!

Yeah. I wonder too.

It would be really nice for the media to send a message to people about being beautiful no matter what your weight was. And not just one article called ‘love your body’ that involves loving your body unless it is over size 14. Shouldn’t the magazines want to make you feel good so you buy it again?

Couldn’t the media just be a little more accepting?

About Ursa

Ursa is a teenager who is a feminist, and doesn't like stereotypes about ages. She likes reading and 'The Gilmore Girls' and is owned by her cat.
This entry was posted in Body hating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clueless

  1. Pingback: Sharing the love « The Lady Garden

  2. Pingback: The Forty-Sixth Down Under Feminists Carnival « Zero at the Bone

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Ughhhh, I hate magazines. Ever stared at Heat magazine for longer than a minute? It’s the epitome of all evil! I literally feel my brain turning to mush. The stories on the front cover’s make me so angry I want to chuck them off the rack and rip them up.
    I’m not a crazy person though, honest 😉

    • Ursa says:

      No, I can’t say I ever have stared at heat magazine for longer than a minute. I try to avoid looking, but the magazine stand often gets the better of me at supermarket queues.

Leave a Reply

