On Nail Polish and Roses

I quite like wearing nail polish. My favourite colour, among others, is purple. I sit and chat with my friends at lunch. I like roses, and irises, and rosemary, and cherry blossoms. I like looking at pictures of cute baby animals. I once owned a princess costume. I draw little hearts on things. I like wearing dresses. I embroider things. I own lipgloss. I enjoy cooking.

Have I been influenced by society’s opinion on females? Is all I am a reflection of what the media thinks girls should be and do?

I’ve been thinking about this a lot recently. I’ve been wondering whether I can still be a feminist if I like and do all these things. It’s a bit of a fine line to walk. I probably have been influenced by society and the media, but I hope my personality is mostly the way I was born, and the events in my life that have shaped me.

I think that just because I am a feminist, I can still draw little hearts on things. I don’t think feminism to be stopping girls from doing all these things, but rather changing the way we think about little girls, and making everything doable by both genders.

I climb trees. My other favourite colours are yellow and green. I think mud slides are better than water slides. I like star trek. I have an interest in the Ancient Romans and Greeks. I play the drums (loudly). I play minecraft. I train in a martial art. I prefer woodwork to sewing. I like driving things.

About Ursa

Ursa is a teenager who is a feminist, and doesn't like stereotypes about ages. She likes reading and 'The Gilmore Girls' and is owned by her cat.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Life, Sterotypes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Nail Polish and Roses

  1. Leah B. says:

    Amen to this!
    I’m planning to spend big on my make-up and jewelery and dress for my Year 12 formal dance ball. I only get one Year 12 formal and I’m planning to buy the best make-up and dress and jewelery i can.

    But, I also like model trains and airplanes and Lego and climbing trees and I played with model cars.

Leave a Reply

