Minecraft. One game, many sterotypes.

I love mine craft. I’m addicted. Obsessed might be going to bit far, maybe enthralled is a better word.

I know many of you probably have no idea what mine craft is, and again, many of you probably don’t care. None the less, to sum the game up in sentence, you build stuff, and destroy stuff, and try to stop evil monsters from killing you. This is typically (wrongly) classified as a ‘boys game.’

I think it is a actually rather amusing, the looks that people give me when they find out I play such a game. At the same time, a was a little taken a back, because I thought at my age the whole ‘boys games girls games’ wouldn’t exist anymore.

But it does. And it makes me sad. Because I seriously thought that those kind of stereotypes did not feature so prominently in society anymore. But they do and we get to live with them.

For a lot of people I don’t think that they purposely intend to think that way, it is just at the back of their mind, because they haven’t made a contentious effort to change their views, because they are so used to thinking one way.

I could be angry about the thoughts of so many people, and I am, and will continue to be, but have found that pity is a less destructive way a dealing with such people. It gives you moral high ground, and a sense of superiority, which tends to be more fun than being mad.

About Lessons to be Learned

I'm a teenager, who is entering a new phase in her life, [high school] and is desperately trying to learn everything she can, about everything she can, [starting with how to blog] and hopefully, will be able to share my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Sterotypes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Minecraft. One game, many sterotypes.

  1. Ursa says:

    I find it a bit weird as well. Another girl at school plays it, and I talk about it with her, but we do get weird looks from the other girls. This may be because most people in my class don’t really play games any more, but I wouldn’t count on it.

  2. Katherine says:

    What I find funny is that most of what I’ve seen the minecraft community do (as a woman who plays minecraft) is build and decorate houses. Design new skins. Interior decorating and playing dress-up are ‘boy things’? Not if you call them that, but inside a computer game suddenly it’s ok. It makes me laugh a little.

    I don’t see that many people playing minecraft that play it just to kill things and destroy things, though there is certainly a section of the playerbase that does.

    • I had never thought of that before. That is a very interesting point. I know many boys that mainly play the game to build things. And yet the creators included the monsters. I would be interested to know whether that was to make the game more appealing and ‘masculine’ to boys. I build houses and play on peaceful mode, and yet people still seem confused when I say I actually play it. I guess that, sadly enough, as soon as you say the words video game, for many people, it is a ‘boy’s game’, regardless of the content.

Leave a Reply

