Teenage Stereotypes

I hate stereotypes more than words can describe. Simply assuming that someone is going to act a certain way, or do a certain thing, because that is what everyone else that is like them in some way is doing doesn’t even make logical sense to me. Since turning 13, I get to put up with stereotypes a lot more than what I was used to. It has only been one year since becoming a ”teenager” and I am really, just over it.

I guess it isn’t even that fact that people are telling me why I am acting the way I do, or why I am feeling the way I do, although I do hate that very much, it is the fact that all of these stereotypes are bad. A lot of people expects teenagers to be selfish, out of control, have no sense of boundaries, unable to communicate, have no respect for anyone, and no thought processes. Naturally the list could just keep going on and on, but I figured you would get the idea.

So now so many people expect me, to be like that. I never wish to be that. I am actually really scared of that. Hence the reason that I try to defy every stereotype that I possibly can. It makes me feel like I have some control.

One of my theories as to why some teenagers may have some of the traits I listed above, is because people keep telling them that they are going to turn out that way. Think about it, if people kept telling you something, after a while, you start to believe it.

If society expected teenagers to be unique and diverse, without passing any other form of judgement, and accepting that some teenagers, like all people, are going to be less than our definition of ”perfect” I think there would be a chance for teenagers to discover what and who they want to be, without having to feel bad about themselves. And then maybe my sanity may be long lasting.

About Lessons to be Learned

I'm a teenager, who is entering a new phase in her life, [high school] and is desperately trying to learn everything she can, about everything she can, [starting with how to blog] and hopefully, will be able to share my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Sterotypes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teenage Stereotypes

  1. N. says:

    I haven’t been a teenager for a long time and I’m not a parent, but I do see people make exactly those comments and excuses for bad behavior from teenagers. I think you’re absolutely right that some teenagers, like some in every other age-based grouping of people, will act out in one way or another and yes, the teenage years present some unique challenges that will be difficult for a lot of people who experience them, but that does not automatically mean that ALL teenagers are horrible to be around. Maybe thinking back to how it was for us and being sympathetic towards the issues we can remember, and accepting of the issues that are new, would be a better approach than just dismissing all teenagers as lunatics whose teen years are something we all have to just ride out until (so-called) ‘sensible adulthood’ kicks in.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Hell yeah! Well said. You go girl 😉

Leave a Reply

